Does This Clear It Up?
Well that's Martin O'Neill's question to David Moyes and those who think Petrov should've been sent off.
Speaking to the Birmingham Mail, O'Neill responded to Moyes' claims that Petrov should've seen red over the handball incident by saying Everton can't have it both ways.
"You can`t get a sending-off and then get the goal - that`s not the rules.
"The referee played the advantage for the goal to be put in the net so once they get the goal then the second decision doesn`t count.
"If he`d have not played the advantage it would have been a penalty kick and a sending-off offence.'
Questionning what David Moyes would have preferred at that stage of the game he said:
'I haven`t a clue what David Moyes would want. I assume he may, in the first few minutes of the game, have wanted the penalty with a possibility of scoring it and us being down to 10 men and still having to play another 80-odd minutes.
"The referee can only give one of two and he chose to give the advantage.'
To further end the confusion, O'Neill finished off by saying:
"Had they not scored I would have assumed the referee would have come back and awarded the penalty and sent our player off.
"Does that clear it up?"
Well it's crystal clear to me.
Win FREE pizza with Vital Football!
Select your team and get 50% off if they score twice.